Skip to content

6 cybersecurity frameworks for improving cyber resilienc

Andrew Robinson |

December 12, 2022
6 cybersecurity frameworks for improving cyber resilienc

Audio version

6 cybersecurity frameworks for improving cyber resilienc


Cybersecurity frameworks are a vital tool for organizations looking to improve their cyber health. A cybersecurity framework provides a set of guidelines and best practices for managing cybersecurity risks, and can help organizations prevent or minimize the impact of cyber attacks.

Here are six cybersecurity frameworks that can help improve your organization's cyber health:

  1. NIST Cybersecurity Framework: The NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF) is a widely-adopted framework developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The CSF is based on a set of principles, rather than specific technologies or solutions, which makes it flexible and adaptable to the needs of different organizations.

  2. ISO 27001: ISO 27001 is an international standard for information security management. It provides a set of best practices and guidelines for organizations to follow in order to protect their sensitive information and systems from cyber attacks.

  3. HIPAA: The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) is a law that sets forth rules and regulations for protecting the privacy and security of personal health information. Organizations in the healthcare industry must comply with HIPAA in order to protect their patients' sensitive information.

  4. SOC 2: The Service Organization Control (SOC) 2 is a set of standards for evaluating the security, availability, and confidentiality of a service organization's systems and controls. SOC 2 audits provide assurance to organizations that use the services of a service organization that the service organization's controls are adequately designed and operating effectively.

  5. ASD Essential 8: The ASD Essential 8 is a set of eight cybersecurity strategies developed by the Australian Signals Directorate (ASD). These strategies are designed to help organizations protect themselves against the most common and most dangerous cyber threats.

  6. PCI DSS: The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) is a set of standards for protecting the security of credit card transactions. Organizations that handle credit card transactions must comply with PCI DSS in order to prevent the theft of credit card information.

Experts Guide to ISO 27001

By using one or more of these cybersecurity frameworks, organizations can improve their cyber health and better protect themselves against cyber attacks. These frameworks provide a set of best practices and guidelines to follow, which can help organizations prevent or minimize the impact of cyber attacks and improve their overall cybersecurity posture.Get started with 6clicks

Andrew Robinson

Written by Andrew Robinson

Andrew started his career in the startup world and went on to perform in cyber and information security advisory roles for the Australian Federal Government and several Victorian Government entities. Andrew has a Masters in Policing, Intelligence and Counter-Terrorism (PICT) specialising in Cyber Security and holds IRAP, ISO 27001 LA, CISSP, CISM and SCF certifications.